Waltham Cross

IMAG0631

On my way to Waltham Abbey, I did my usual thing of deciding I didn’t need to consult a map to get there, I’d just figure it out. Except I couldn’t and I ended up in Waltham Cross instead of Waltham Abbey having turned left not right on leaving Waltham Cross train station. It wasn’t all a loss though as I came upon this little beauty in Waltham Cross town centre.

It’s one of 12 stone monuments, known as the Eleanor Crosses, between London and Lincoln that were commissioned by King Edward I to commemorate his beloved first wife Eleanor of Castile after she died near Lincoln in November 1290. Each monument marks a site where the late queen’s body spent the night on its 12 day journey to London for burial. The monument at Waltham Cross is one of only three complete crosses still standing. It’s amazing what you come across when you take a wrong turn.

Leave a Reply

